Merle Haggard: Live from Austin, TX '78 (LP)


SKU : 607396534517

When he stepped onto the Austin City Limits stage for the very first time on that brisk January day in 1978, Merle Haggard was at the top of his game. It had been over a decade since his first national hit, "Sing A Sad Song", and not that long after "Okie From Muskogee" had firmly planted his music in the public consciousness. He had already been declared "Entertainer of the Year" by both the Country Music Awards and Academy of Country Music - in the same year (1970). He had just released A Tribute to the Best Damn Fiddle Player in the World (Or MY Salute to Bob Willis), which sparked a revival of interest in western swing. And with his band, The Strangers, it's no stretch to say that he had the best live show in country music of his day.

- Terry Lickona (Producer Austin City Limits®)

Merle Haggard’s very first Austin City Limits performance, recorded in January 1978 released
on vinyl for the first time

12 different songs than previous Live From Austin, Texas release (recorded in 1985)

Five #1 Country singles (I'm A lonesome fugitive, Sing Me Back Home, Cherokee Maiden,
Farmer's Daughter, and Workin' Man's Blues)

Features 4 classic Bob Wills (King Of Western Swing) songs with Merle on fiddle

Side A
1.) Working Man Can't Get Nowhere Today
2.) Silver Wings
3.) Lonesome Fugitive
4.) Sing Me Back Home
5.) Orange Blossom Special
6.) Old-Fashioned Love
7.) Brain Cloudy Blues

Side B
1.) Ramblin' Fever
2.) Long Black Limosine
3.) Cherokee Maiden
4.) San Antonio Rose
5.) Misery
6.) The Farmers Daughter
7.) Workin' Man Blues

Shipping Information 

Shipping Methods   

After you place your order, your merchandise will be carefully packaged by our associates in our warehouse. 

Shipping Charges   

The shipping charges applied in the cart are based on the weights of the products and the shipping location. 

Please allow 2-4 business days to prepare your order for shipment. 

International Orders   

Place your order online as usual and enter the overseas shipping address; shipping charges applied in the cart are based on the weights of the products and the shipping location. Once your online order is processed, delivery should occur within approximately 14 days. Import duties, taxes, and charges are not included in the item price or shipping cost. The buyer is considered the importer of record and these charges are the buyer's responsibility. Please check with your country's customs office to determine any additional costs prior to purchasing. They will be collected at the time of delivery. If you have any questions, please feel free to call customer service at (615) 316-6541. 

Order Status   

If you have an account with us, log into your account and check your order status under My Orders section. Please click here to login your account. Or you can call one of our friendly agents for help: (615) 316-6541 


Returns Policy   

Need to return or exchange an item? We accept returns/exchanges of unworn, unwashed products with the original receipt. Include your return/exchange back to the shop within 30 days of the purchase date and we will refund or exchange the item(s) to the original form of payment. 

Please contact us and we'll work with you to exchange or refund your item(s), less your original shipping charges. You just pay for shipping the item(s) back to us. 

Send your return to the following address: 

Opry Entertainment Warehouse 
721 Opry Mills Dr. 
Nashville, TN 37214 

Method For Returns   

Return by mail using the shipper of your choice. 


Questions or need further help? If you have any questions along the way, we'd love to help! Give us a call at (615) 316-6541 or email us at